Yelverton and District Local History Society


The Yelverton and District Local History Society was formed twenty years ago, in 1982, by a group of people who, quite rightly, believed there was a need to study the fascinating history of the villages nestling on the Yelverton side of Dartmoor, and to make an effort to record as much of that history as possible while the places existed free of development and the people remembered the past.

The first meeting was held at 7.30pm on 17th November 1982 in the Conference Room at the Devon Tors under the chairmanship of David German. Twenty people attended the meeting. The villages covered by the Y. & D.L.H.S. were (and still are) Buckland Monachorum, Clearbrook, Crapstone, Dousland, Horrabridge, Meavy, Milton Combe, Sampford Spiney, Sheepstor, Walkhampton and Yelverton.

The present chairman comments in his message on our current success and our record membership level. This is surely due to the sustained quality of our programme of speakers over the years, many of them acknowledged experts in their chosen field.

In the past twenty years a number of noted members have published work independently of the Society, Pauline Hemery (now Pauline Hamilton-Leggett), Alan Rowe, Tom Greeves, Elisabeth Stanbrook and Jenny Sanders to name a few, but we as members of the society have gained much by association with their efforts. We have often persuaded them to share in some detail their knowledge and experience with us all, by giving talks and/or contributing to the newsletters.

MEETINGS: these are usually held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month.

MEMBERSHIP SUBSCRIPTIONS: for 2005 are as follows: Individual: £4.00, Family: £7.00 Libraries, Schools etc: £4.00. Contact Peter Laxton, 4 The Coach House, Grenofen, Tavistock, Devon.

The Newsletter is published once a year and costs £2.00 to members of Yelverton & District Local History Society. Non-members £2.50 + 40p p&p.

CONTRIBUTIONS: Correspondence relating to the Newsletter and contributions for publication should be sent to the Editor, Y&DLHS, Westway, Whistley Down, Yelverton, Devon, PL20 6EN. The copydate for the next Newsletter is the end of January 2005..

Chairman Nigel Rendle
Tel: 01822 853260
Secretary David Latham
Treasurer/Membership Secretary Peter Laxton
Publicity Officer Mary Osborn
Newsletter Editor David Latham
Committee David Latham, Peter Laxton, Pamela Keates, Nigel Rendle and Geoff Floyd.

Devon Family History Society

Please send comments on the web site to